Calendar
April
« April 2014 »
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
News

Profile

The Cluster “Materials for Life” explores new intelligent materials exhibiting complex multiple sensing and actuating properties for medical applications that address features such as adaptability and autonomous therapy responses. The complex requirement profile for the novel in vivo applications represents the originality and the higher risk-taking factors of the researchprogramme.

The Cluster’s impact on the research area is based on the possibility to apply these new materials for continuous monitoring and treatment of critical health conditions. This allows cutting edge diagnostics and provides options for medical therapy and prophylaxis for conditions where it would be otherwise difficult or even impossible to assess and to improve patients’ state of health.

The Research Areas of the Cluster are managed to effectively address and merge the broad range of competences. This is achieved with the Fundamental and Applied Research Area as well by the special overarching Integrative Research Area. The latter area will provide an understanding of the design and the role of intelligent materials for in vivo applications as general universal scientific results beyond the specific applications of the Applied Research Areas.

The Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel (CAU) is well suited for the Cluster’s research programme due to its proven track record with regards to interdisciplinarity, the quality of the involved researchers, and the value of cooperation with the participating Fraunhofer Institute for Silicon Technology (ISIT) in Itzehoe and the Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht (HZG).The high intensity of interdisciplinary collaborations of the research programme, the integrationof the Cluster in the profile “Kiel Nano Sciences”, and the special programme to promote gender equality result in a sustainable impact on the structural development of the CAU and will strengthen the research group and provide a stronger international profile for the CAU.

To sustainably implement the research topic "Materials for Life", thirteen additional professorships will be created. Significant Cluster funding, the tenure-track and a dedicated Dual-Career-Programme will facilitate the interest and recruitment of outstanding scientists. Furthermore, a special postdoctoral programme will be initiated in collaboration with the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation to attract international young scientists with excellent academic records.

The technology and knowledge transfer into applications is fostered by the non-university researchpartners, by an Advisory Board of national and international leading experts, and by an Information Forum for decision makers, industry and the general public.

Kalender
April
« April 2014 »
MoDiMiDoFrSaSo
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
Nachrichten

Profil

Der Cluster “Materialien für das Leben” erforscht neue intelligente Materialien mit komplexen, vielfältigen Sensor- und Aktorfunktionen für medizinische Anwendungen, wobei Eigenschaften wie Adaptierbarkeit und autonome Therapie adressiert werden. Dieses komplexe Anforderungsprofil für neue in vivo Applikationen macht die Originalität und Risikobereitschaft der Forschung aus. Die Bedeutung des Clusters für das Forschungsgebiet resultiert aus der Möglichkeit, diese neuen Materialien für eine kontinuierliche Überwachung und Behandlung kritischer Gesundheitszustände einzusetzen. Dies wird wegbereitende neue Möglichkeiten der Diagnostik, medizinischenTherapie und Prophylaxe für schwierige Gesundheitszustände von Patienten erlauben. 

Die Forschungsfelder des Clusters sind so organisiert, dass das breite Spektrum an Kompetenzen zielgerichtet angesprochen werden kann. Dies wird durch die Gebiete der Grundlagenforschung und der Angewandten Forschung, sowie durch das spezielle Übergreifende Gebiet der Integrativen Forschung erreicht, wodurch - als verallgemeinertes Forschungsergebnis - ein generelles Verständnis von intelligenten Werkstoffen für in vivo Anwendungen erzielt wird. 

Die Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel (CAU) ist prädestiniert für das Forschungsprogramm aufgrund ihrer beispielhaft gelebten Interdisziplinarität, der Qualität der beteiligten Wissenschaftler(innen) sowie der Kooperation mit dem Fraunhofer Institut für Siliziumtechnologie (ISIT) in Itzehoe und dem Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht (HZG). Die intensive interdisziplinäre Kooperation innerhalb des Forschungsprogramms, die Integration des Clusters in den Schwerpunkt “Kiel Nano Sciences” und das spezielle Programm zur Förderung der Gleichstellung resultieren in nachhaltige Wirkung auf die strukturelle Entwicklung der CAU, auf eine Unterstützung der Forschungsgruppen und zu einem stärkeren internationalen Profil der CAU

Um die Thematik “Materialien für das Leben” nachhaltig zu implementieren, sind dreizehn zusätzliche Professuren vorgesehen. Die signifikante Förderung durch den Cluster, die Verstetigungsperspektive sowie ein Doppelkarriereprogramm werden es erlauben, das Interesse hervorragender Wissenschaftler/innen zu wecken und für eine Mitarbeit zu motivieren. Zusätzlich wird ein Postdoc-Programm in Kooperation mit der Alexander von Humboldt Stiftung initiiert, um internationale junge Wissenschaftler/innen mit exzellenter akademischer Vita zu gewinnen. 

Technologie- und Wissenstransfer sollen durch Einbindung der außeruniversitären Partner, einen Beraterkreis von (inter)nationalen Experten, sowie ein Informationsforum für Entscheidungsträger, Industrie und allgemeine Öffentlichkeit gefördert werden.

weiter mit Struktur